By Laura Hughes

Published: Liverpool Life newspaper 14/03/17

boxer print screen.png

Liverpool’s emerging young bantamweight boxer Peter McGrail chalked up another impressive win helping the British Lionhearts to a World Boxing Series victory over Morocco Atlas Lions.

The 20-year-old fought his way to victory over Redouane Khachfen at London’s York Hall last Wednesday. Peter, from Childwall, spoke about his successful win to Liverpool Life.

He said: “It was great, I’m happy to get the win, I boxed well in five rounds, which is a different format to what we normally fight.

“We usually fight three but last night was the World Series Boxing so it was an extra two rounds, with more time to show off my skills.”

The fight was Peter’s first this year and he talked about the toughness of his most recent opponent: “I’m only 20 and the person I fought was 27, so he was a tough strong man who put some good shots to the body and a few good heavy shots but he seemed to just take them and they kept coming.”

London’s York Hall is one of Britain’s best-known boxing venues, something Peter was aware of, adding: “The atmosphere was great, the entire crowd were behind me.

“Loads of people were wishing me good luck before it and people afterwards were coming up to me saying, ‘you boxed brilliant’. It’s great to box in front of the home crowd.”

Peter spent his early years training at the Everton Red Triangle Boxing Club, winning the Youth Olympic gold in Nanjing over two years ago, and is now working towards Tokyo 2020.

The seven time national champion, who narrowly missed Olympic qualification last year, said: “I thought I was good enough to qualify but there was another person on the squad who had been on there for like six years – I’d only been on the squad for two.

“I was gutted, in my opinion I thought I was better than him but it’s just one of those things.”

This week Peter will be aiming to bring home the gold medal as he heads to the European Under-22 Championships in Romania, something he is confident of.

He said: “I’m not nervous at all, I’m excited more than anything, I’m happy I got a fight in before I’m going so I’ve started to get my sharpness back now and hopefully get a gold out from there. I always try to aim for the gold.”

 

